Skip to content

MMO 技術演示

本技術演示旨在展示一種製作 基礎的 大型多人遊戲(MMO)的方法. 包括聊天系統, 玩家持久性, 多個流動 ColyseusRooms 以及聯網的可交互對象. 需註意的是, 本演示包含生產大規模 MMO 所需的數據分區或其他任何負載平衡方式. 本演示使用 Colyseus 0.14.7 版本以及 Unity version 2020.3.1f1.

下載演示 (查看源代碼)

玩下看看!

屏幕截圖

開始

啟用本地伺服器

您需要從 提供的伺服器目錄 中選擇安裝並啟用伺服器, 以正常操作本演示. 按照 這些文檔中 Unity3d 部分之"執行演示伺服器" 中的說明操作即可.

此外,本演示使用 MongoDB 來實現玩家資訊持久性.若您希望在本地執行此示例,則需要安裝自己的本地數據庫或提供自己的(參見 "演示調整" 章節)

關於如何設置本地示例的詳情,可前往 MongoDB 網站查看

ColyseusSettings ScriptableObject

伺服器的所有設置都可通過此處的 ColyseusSetting ScriptableObject 進行更改:

ScriptableObject

如果您執行的是本地伺服器,預設的設置就能夠滿足需求; 但若您希望托管伺服器, 則需要按需更改 Colyseus 伺服器地址Colyseus 伺服器端口.

播放演示

在位於 ColyseusTechDemo-MMO\Assets\Scenes\MMOLoginScene 的場景"MMOLoginScene"中登錄玩家賬號. 若您是初次操作, 則需要創建一個賬號. 輸入您的郵箱地址和密碼, 登錄後即可開始操作. 登錄成功後, 客戶端會加載 "TowerScene" 場景並將 NetworkedEntity 放入其中. 您可以隨時按下空格鍵查看控件, 自定義遊戲人物或退出主菜單. 走進位於房間兩側的灰色方塊時, 您就會被傳送至另一間房.

控件

本演示的控件可隨時在 Escape 菜單查看, 內容如下:

Input Description
W,A,S,M 移動
按住Shift鍵 沖刺
Q,E 旋轉人物
上滑/下滑 放大/縮小
按住並拖動鼠標右鍵 攝像頭軸轉
` 切換聊天窗口

演示概覽

本演示旨在向用戶展示如何使用 Colyseus 來設計並實現一款 MMO 遊戲. 它強調了以下特性:

動態房間

可按需創建並配置 MMORooms. 當玩家進入一個網格空間時, 我們就加入一個房間, 並將其 progress 值設為網格值, 如 arena.config.ts:

javascript gameServer.define('lobby_room', MMORoom).filterBy(["progress"]); // Filter room by "progress" (which grid we're wanting to join EX: -1x2)

當玩家在地圖中移動時, 可以基於他們所在的網格位置加入/離開房間. 玩家嘗試更新遊戲進度時, 客戶端會向伺服器端發送一條消息, 然後伺服器端會在 MMORoom.ts 中捕捉這條資訊: MMORoom.ts:

this.onMessage("transitionArea", (client: Client, transitionData: Vector[]) => {
    if (transitionData == null || transitionData.length < 2) {
        logger.error(`*** Grid Change Error! Missing data for grid change! ***`);
        return;
    }
    this.onGridUpdate(client, transitionData[0] as  Vector2, transitionData[1] as  Vector3);
});

在确定新的网格位置后,客户端会获得一个新的可用SeatReservation,用以加入正确的ColyseusRoom来获取新的网格位置。 登录/注册的时候也会有相似的流程(参见 玩家持久性 章节)。

MapScreenshop

這是本演示中使用的網格地圖. 除綠色網格之外, 其他網格都帶有互通出口, 您可以在這些網格之間進出. 比如在 -3x3 網格空間中, 您可以通過西北方向的出口進入到 3x-3 網格空間. 所有其他相連的網格之間都有互通出口. 僅與角落有接觸的網格空間, 其出口在角落上, 玩家可以在對角線上穿梭.

聊天系統

ChatScreenshot 我們有另一個 ColyseusRoom 來處理聊天系統: ChatRoom.ts. 不論是從哪裏(伺服器端或客戶端)進入或離開 MMORoom, 我們都會同時進入或離開 ChatRoom. 這些聊天室均經過 roomId 篩選, 後者與接入 MMORoom 的 ID 是一致的. 客戶端發送的消息會被添加到 ChatRoomState's ChatQueue, 觸發所有已連線的客戶端狀態變更. 每一條新進消息都會收到一個 timeStamp 值, 接收到後該資訊就會被移出隊列.

玩家持久性

用戶身份驗證說明

本演示使用的是很基礎的用戶驗證體系, 目的是為了讓玩家能夠持續使用唯一的用戶賬號, 該方式不可用於真實場景去實現整體用戶身份驗證. 請勿使用任何您在其他地方真實使用的郵箱和密碼組合.

在本演示中,為記錄玩家的遊戲進度(玩家目前所在的房間以及離開遊戲前所在的房間), 所在位置, 遊戲幣余額等資訊,玩家的唯一賬號會保留在數據庫中. 需要註冊玩家賬號才能播放本演示.成功驗證用戶身份後,房間席位預定將回傳至客戶端. 席位預定的會話 id 會作為 "pendingSessionId" 被保存至數據庫中玩家賬號條目中. 客戶端嘗試使用席位預定時, 房間的 "onAuth" 處理程序會執行玩家賬號查找操作, 來讓玩家順利進入房間. 若查找不到與 "pendingSessionId" 匹配的玩家賬號, 客戶端則無法加入房間. 但是在成功查找到玩家賬號後, "pendingSessionId" 變為 "activeSessionId", 則玩家可加入房間. 匹配過程中玩家的遊戲進度將被用來過濾房間. 比如, 遊戲進度值為 "1,1" (代表其在網格區域中坐標為 1x1) 的玩家將被匹配進具有相同進度值的房間(若房間已存在). 若不存在具有相同進度值的房間,則系統會自動創建一個. 因此, 只有當玩家在時才存在與其網格坐標匹配的房間. 玩家通過任一網格出口離開網格區域, 進入另一個網格時, 其遊戲進度將會更新.

可交互元素

Interactables 網格周圍可能會散落Interactables. 這些是 InteractableState 架構對象在客戶端的展示. 我們製作新網格空間預製件時會將它們放入編輯器中. 玩家與其中一個對象互動時, 客戶端會向伺服器端發送一條 objectInteracted 消息. 若伺服器端還未獲取到已提供的對象交互 ID, 則會創建一個新的架構引用, 將其添加至房間的架構映射中, 並回傳給客戶端. 然後伺服器會客戶端是否具備執行互動的條件. 若成功, 所有客戶端將會收到一條 objectUsed 廣播消息, 包含交互對象的 ID 以及與之互動的用戶. 客戶端上, 適當的 NetworkedEntityInteractable 對象則會被告知一起執行. 本演示中有 4 種不同類型的交互元素, 您可在不同的網格空間中找到: -按鍵臺 - 用戶每按一次可獲得一枚硬幣 -投幣騎乘機 - 一個小騎乘機, 可暫時禁用您的控件並來回彈跳晃動您的 NetworkedEntity. 每次使用消耗 1 枚金幣 - 傳送器 - 一個能夠將使用者傳送至其 "退出平臺" 的小平臺. 使用時消耗 2 枚金幣 - 特效旋渦 - 按鈕臺的替代品, 沒有消耗也沒有作用, 只在按下時顯示一個酷炫的特效(使用預設伺服器類型)

調整演示

當您播放此演示的時候, 您可能希望進行一些調整, 幫您更好地了解當前發生的情況. 下面您將學習如何進行微調整.

调整演示

当你播放此演示的时候,你可能希望进行一些调整,帮你更好地了解当前发生的情况。 下面你将学习如何进行微调整。

使用您自己的數據庫

如果您希望將此演示指向您自己的數據庫, 您需要在 Server 目錄下的 arena.env 中提供一個不同的 Mongo 連線字符串, 它當前期望您托管一個本地的 Mongo 數據庫:

DEMO_DATABASE=mongodb://localhost:27017/demo?retryWrites=true&w=majority

聊天消息顯示時間

在客戶端, 您可以通過更改 ChatManager.cs 上的公共 messageShowTime 變數來更改消息顯示的時長, 然後在 MMOManager.cs:

private async void JoinChatRoom()
{
    ColyseusRoom<ChatRoomState> chatRoom = await client.JoinOrCreate<ChatRoomState>("chat_room", new Dictionary<string, object>() { { "roomID", Room.Id }, {"messageLifetime", ChatManager.Instance.messageShowTime} });
    ChatManager.Instance.SetRoom(chatRoom);
}

添加您自己的交互對象

如果您想向客戶端添加一個新的交互對象, 其必須繼承自 Interactable.cs. 查看其他交互對象, 想想您可以做什麽. 如果您想重寫您的交互對象的 serverType 值, 您也應當為您在伺服器上的新 serverType 添加一個案例: interactableObjectFactory.ts:

export  function  getStateForType(type: string) : InteractableState {
    let  state : InteractableState = new  InteractableState();
    //Any new types need an appropriate constructor in here or they will return empty
    switch(type){
        case("DEFAULT"):
        {
            state.assign({
                coinChange :  0,
                interactableType :  type,
                useDuration :  5100.0
            });
            break;
        }

        case("BUTTON_PODIUM"):
        {
            state.assign({
                coinChange :  1,
                interactableType :  type,
                useDuration :  10000.0
            });
            break;
        }
        case("COIN_OP"):
        {
            state.assign({
                coinChange : -1,
                interactableType :  type,
                useDuration :  5100.0
            });
            break;
        }
        case("TELEPORTER"):
        {
            state.assign({
                coinChange : -2,
                interactableType :  type,
                useDuration :  5100.0
            });
            break;
        }
    }
    return  state;
}

變數 coinChange 是在使用金幣時用戶的金幣數量應該改變的數值. 如果該值為負(金幣使用的交互成本)伺服器將在成功響應之前確認用戶擁有足夠金幣, 如函數中所示 handleObjectCost in MMORoom.ts:

handleObjectCost(object: InteractableState, user: NetworkedEntityState): boolean {
    let cost: number = object.coinChange;
    let worked: boolean = false;

    //Its a gain, no need to check
    if (cost >= 0) {
      user.coins += cost;
      worked = true;
    }
    //Check if user can afford this
    if (cost < 0) {
      if (Math.abs(cost) <= user.coins) {
        user.coins += cost;
        worked = true;
      }
      else {
        worked = false;
      }
    }

    return worked;
  }

如果該檢查成功, 目標交互將正常繼續進行. 變數 useDuration 是用來考慮交互對象在於用戶交互後能夠保持 inUse 多久的因素. 當一個交互對象被使用後, 其 availableTimestamp 將被設定為:

interactableObject.inUse = true;
interactableObject.availableTimestamp = this.state.serverTime + interactableObject.useDuration;

伺服器之後將檢查每個 simulationInterval:

checkObjectReset() {
    this.state.interactableItems.forEach((state: InteractableState) => {
      if (state.inUse && state.availableTimestamp <= this.state.serverTime) {
        state.inUse = false;
        state.availableTimestamp = 0.0;
      }
    });
  }

如果 serverTime 顯示時機已到, 這將重置 MMORoom 中任何交互對象的 inUse 值.

Back to top

Skip to content



MMO Tech Demo

The purpose of this technical demo is to show one method of how to make a basic MMO. Including a chat system, player persistence, multiple flowing ColyseusRooms and networked interactable objects. It is important to note that this demo does not include sharding or any other methods of load balancing that one would need for a production scale MMO. This demo is designed to work with Colyseus version 0.14.7 and Unity version 2020.3.1f1.

Download demo (View source code)

Play the demo!

Screenshot

Getting Started

Launching a local server

You need to install and launch the server from the provided Server directory for this demo to function properly. Simply follow the instructions found underneath “Running the demo server” in the Unity3d section of these docs.

Additionally, this demo uses MongoDB for player persistence. If you wish to run it locally, you'll have to set up your own local DB or provide your own (see the "Adjusting the Demo" section)

See the MongoDB website for details on how to set up a local instance

ColyseusSettings ScriptableObject

All server settings can be changed via the ColyseusSetting ScriptableObject located here:

ScriptableObject

If you are running a local server, the default settings should be sufficient, however if you wish to host a server you’ll need to change the Colyseus Server Address and Colyseus Server Port values accordingly.

Playing the Demo

Start the player in the scene “MMOLoginScene” located at ColyseusTechDemo-MMO\Assets\Scenes\MMOLoginScene. If this is your first time, you'll need to create an account. Input your e-mail, password and then login to begin. If you are successful, the client will load the “TowerScene” scene and place a NetworkedEntity in it. At any point you can press the escape key to view the controls, customize your avatar or exit to the main menu. You will be transferred into a different room by walking into the grey cubes that are located on sides of rooms.

Controls

The controls for this demo are visible in the Escape menu at any time and are as follows:

Input Description
W,A,S,M Movement
Hold Shift Sprint
Q,E Rotate Avatar
Scroll Up/Down Zoom In/Out
Hold and Drag Right Mouse Button Camera Pivot
` Toggle Chat Window

Demo Overview

This demo was designed to show how a user could potentially design and implement an MMO style game using Colyseus. It highlights the following features:

Dynamic Rooms

MMORooms are created and disposed of as needed. When a player enters a grid space, we join a room where it's progress value is set to the grid values, as seen in arena.config.ts:

gameServer.define('lobby_room', MMORoom).filterBy(["progress"]); // Filter room by "progress" (which grid we're wanting to join EX: -1x2)

As players move throughout the world, they join/leave rooms based off of their position in the world grid. A message is sent from the client to the server stating that the player is trying to update their progress, which we then catch in MMORoom.ts:

this.onMessage("transitionArea", (client: Client, transitionData: Vector[]) => {
    if (transitionData == null || transitionData.length < 2) {
        logger.error(`*** Grid Change Error! Missing data for grid change! ***`);
        return;
    }
    this.onGridUpdate(client, transitionData[0] as  Vector2, transitionData[1] as  Vector3);
});

After determining what the new grid position is, the client is given a new SeatReservation to consume, thus joining the correct ColyseusRoom for their new grid position. A similar flow also occurs when Logging in/Signing up (see Player Persistence section).

MapScreenshop

This is the implemented grid map for this demo. The non-green grid spaces contain exits that will wrap around to each other, allowing you to travel from one to the other. For example in grid space -3x3, you can take the North West exit and you will be placed into grid space 3x-3. All other contiguous grid spaces will have exits to each other. The grid spaces that are only touching corners will have exits in those corners to traverse the grid diagonally.

Chat System

ChatScreenshot An additional ColyseusRoom is used to handle the Chat system: ChatRoom.ts. In both the client and the server, anywhere we join or leave an MMORoom we also join or leave a ChatRoom. These ChatRooms are filtered by roomId which is the ID of the MMORoom it is connected to. When a client sends a message, it's added to the ChatRoomState's ChatQueue, triggering a state change on all connected clients. Every new message that comes in receives a timeStamp value, after which it will be removed from the queue.

Player Persistence

User Authentication Note

This demo makes use of a very basic user authentication system with the intent of having player persistence for unique user accounts and should NOT be used as a real world example of how to implement user authentication as a whole. Do NOT use any email and password combination you actually use anywhere else.

In this demo, unique player accounts are persisted in a database in order to keep track of a player's progress (which room they are currently in and which room they were in last), position, coin balance, and more.
A player account is necessary to play this demo. With successful user authentication, a seat reservation for a room is sent back to the client. The session Id of that seat reservation is saved to the player's account entry in the database as a "pendingSessionId". When the client attempts to consume the seat reservation, in order to join the room, a player account look up operation using the "pendingSessionId" is performed in the "onAuth" handler of the room. If no player account with a matching "pendingSessionId" exists, the client will not be allowed to join the room. However, with a successful player account look up, the "pendingSessionId" will become an "activeSessionId" and the client will join the room.
A player's progress is used to filter rooms during the matchmaking process. For example, a player with a progress value of "1,1" (representing grid area coordinates 1x1) will matchmake into a room with the same progress value if it already exists. If no room with that progress value exists, then one shall be created. This way, rooms for each grid coordinate only exist as players are in them. A player's progress is updated as they leave one grid area to move to another via one of the exit doors.

Interactable Elements

Interactables Grid spaces may have Interactables scattered around them. These are client-side representations of InteractableState schema objects that are placed within the editor when we make a new grid space prefab. When a player performs an interaction with one of these objects, the client will send a objectInteracted message to the server. If the server is not yet aware of the Interactable ID that has been provided, it will create a new schema reference which will be added to the room's schema map and makes its way back to the client. The server will then check if the Client meets the requirements to perform an interaction. If successful, all clients will receive an objectUsed message broadcast, along with the interactable's ID and the user who interacted with it. On the client's side, the appropriate NetworkedEntity and Interactable objects will be told to perform together. This demo comes with 4 different types of interactables that you can find in the various grid spaces: - Button Podium - Gives the interacting user 1 coin per press - Coin Op - A small ride that will disable your controls temporarily and bounce your NetworkedEntity around. Costs 1 coin per use - Teleporter - A small platform that will teleport a user to it's "exit platform". Costs 2 coins to use - FX Swirl - An alternate to the Button Podium that costs nothing and gives nothing, but displays a cool effect when pressed (uses the DEFAULT server type)

Adjusting the Demo

As you play around with this demo, you may want to make some adjustments to better familiarize yourself with what is happening. Below, you’ll learn how to make these minor adjustments.

Using your own DB

If you wish to point this demo at your own database, you'll need to provide a different Mongo connection string in the arena.env file located in the Server directory, which is currently expecting you to be hosting a local mongo db:

DEMO_DATABASE=mongodb://localhost:27017/demo?retryWrites=true&w=majority

Chat Message Life Time

On the client side, you can change the length of time a message shows for by changing the public messageShowTime variable on ChatManager.cs which will then be sent to the server when Joining/Creating a room in MMOManager.cs:

private async void JoinChatRoom()
{
    ColyseusRoom<ChatRoomState> chatRoom = await client.JoinOrCreate<ChatRoomState>("chat_room", new Dictionary<string, object>() { { "roomID", Room.Id }, {"messageLifetime", ChatManager.Instance.messageShowTime} });
    ChatManager.Instance.SetRoom(chatRoom);
}

Adding Your Own Interactables

If you want to add a new interactable to the client, it must inherit from Interactable.cs. Check out any of the other Interactables for ideas of what you can do. If you want to override the serverType value on you Interactable, you should ALSO add a case for your new serverType on the server in interactableObjectFactory.ts:

export  function  getStateForType(type: string) : InteractableState {
    let  state : InteractableState = new  InteractableState();
    //Any new types need an appropriate constructor in here or they will return empty
    switch(type){
        case("DEFAULT"):
        {
            state.assign({
                coinChange :  0,
                interactableType :  type,
                useDuration :  5100.0
            });
            break;
        }

        case("BUTTON_PODIUM"):
        {
            state.assign({
                coinChange :  1,
                interactableType :  type,
                useDuration :  10000.0
            });
            break;
        }
        case("COIN_OP"):
        {
            state.assign({
                coinChange : -1,
                interactableType :  type,
                useDuration :  5100.0
            });
            break;
        }
        case("TELEPORTER"):
        {
            state.assign({
                coinChange : -2,
                interactableType :  type,
                useDuration :  5100.0
            });
            break;
        }
    }
    return  state;
}

The variable coinChange is the amount a user's coin count should change upon use. If the value is negative (the interactable COSTS coins to use) the server will confirm that the user has enough coins to use it before responding with success, as seen in the function handleObjectCost in MMORoom.ts:

handleObjectCost(object: InteractableState, user: NetworkedEntityState): boolean {
    let cost: number = object.coinChange;
    let worked: boolean = false;

    //Its a gain, no need to check
    if (cost >= 0) {
      user.coins += cost;
      worked = true;
    }
    //Check if user can afford this
    if (cost < 0) {
      if (Math.abs(cost) <= user.coins) {
        user.coins += cost;
        worked = true;
      }
      else {
        worked = false;
      }
    }

    return worked;
  }

If this check is successful, object interaction will move forward normally. The variable useDuration is used to factor in how long an interactable will remain inUse after a user interacts with it. When an interactable gets used, it's availableTimestamp is set as so:

interactableObject.inUse = true;
interactableObject.availableTimestamp = this.state.serverTime + interactableObject.useDuration;

The server then checks during each simulationInterval:

checkObjectReset() {
    this.state.interactableItems.forEach((state: InteractableState) => {
      if (state.inUse && state.availableTimestamp <= this.state.serverTime) {
        state.inUse = false;
        state.availableTimestamp = 0.0;
      }
    });
  }

This resets the inUse value for any interactables in the MMORoom if the serverTime says it's time to do that.

Back to top